SLAVERY AND THE FIGHT FOR FREEDOM
SLAVERY AND THE SLAVE TRADE : DEFINITIONS
SLAVERY

Slavery is a socio-economic system based on the exploitation of human beings, and functions only based through constraint and violence.

 A slave is a person who is not free: he or she belongs to a master who exerts total power over him or her.A slave is considered as a possession or good, and can be sold and separated from his or her family. He or she is obliged to carry out any work his or her master may require.

 According to the first article of the Geneva Convention, dated 25 September 1926:

« Slavery is the status or condition of a person over whom any or all of the powers attaching to the right of ownership are exercised.« 

Supplementary Convention on the abolition of slavery

The Supplementary Convention on the Abolition of Slavery, the Slave Trade, and Institutions and Practices Similar to Slavery adopted in Geneva on 7 September 1956, adds to this text and defines as a situation of slavery

 « a) Debt bondage, that is to say, the status or condition arising from a pledge by a debtor of his personal services or of those of a person under his control as security for a debt, if the value of those services as reasonably assessed is not applied towards the liquidation of the debt or the length and nature of those services are not respectively limited and definedi;

b) Serfdom, that is to say, the condition or status of a tenant who is by law, custom or agreement bound to live and labour on land belonging to another person and to render some determinate service to such other person, whether for reward or not, and is not free to change his status;

 c) Any institution or practice whereby:

 I) A woman, without the right to refuse, is promised or given in marriage on payment of a consideration in money or in kind to her parents, guardian, family or any other person or group;

 II) The husband of a woman, his family, or his clan, has the right to transfer her to another person for value received or otherwise;

III) A woman, on the death of her husband, is liable to be inherited by another person;

 d) Any institution or practice whereby a child or young person under the age of 18 years, is delivered by either or both of his natural parents or by his guardian to another person, whether for reward or not, with a view to the exploitation of the child or young person or of his labour. »

SLAVE TRADING

Slave trading is the act of reducing human beings to the status of slaves, selling them or transporting them against their will:

According to the first article of the Geneva Convention, dated 25 September 1926 :

« The slave trade includes all acts involved in the capture, acquisition or disposal of a person with intent to reduce him to slavery; all acts involved in the acquisition of a slave with a view to selling or exchanging him; all acts of disposal by sale or exchange of a slave acquired with a view to being sold or exchanged, and, in general, every act of trade or
transport in slaves. »

esclavage et lutte pour la liberté
Esclavage
et traite : définitions


L’esclavage

L’esclavage est un système socio-économique reposant sur l’exploitation d’êtres humains, qui ne fonctionne que sous la contrainte et par la violence.

L’esclave est une personne qui n’est pas de condition libre : il appartient à un maître exerçant sur lui un pouvoir absolu. Considéré comme un bien mobilier, comme une marchandise, l’esclave peut être vendu, séparé de sa famille, il est contraint d’effectuer tous les travaux que son maître exige de lui.

Selon la Convention de Genève du 25 septembre 1926, dans son article premier :

« L’esclavage est l’état ou condition d’un individu sur lequel s’exercent les attributs du droit de propriété ou certains d’entre eux. »


La Convention supplémentaire
relative à l’abolition de l’esclavage

La Convention supplémentaire relative à l’abolition de l’esclavage, de la traite des esclaves et des institutions et pratiques analogues à l’esclavage, adoptée à Genève le 7 septembre 1956, complète ce texte et définie comme situation d’esclavage :

 « a) La servitude pour dettes, c’est-à-dire l’état ou la condition résultant du fait qu’un débiteur s’est engagé à fournir en garantie d’une dette ses services personnels ou ceux de quelqu’un sur lequel il a autorité, si la valeur équitable ce ces services n’est pas affectée à la liquidation de la dette ou si la durée de ces services n’est pas limitée ni leur caractère défini;

b) Le servage, c’est-à-dire la condition de quiconque est tenu par la loi, la coutume ou un accord, de vivre et de travailler sur une terre appartenant à une autre personne et de fournir à cette autre personne, contre rémunération ou gratuitement, certains services déterminés, sans pouvoir changer sa condition;

 c) Toute institution ou pratique en vertu de laquelle :

 I) Une femme est, sans qu’elle ait le droit de refuser, promise ou donnée en mariage moyennant une contrepartie en espèces ou en nature versée à ses parents, à son tuteur, à sa famille ou à toute autre personne ou tout autre groupe de personnes;

 II) Le mari d’une femme, la famille ou le clan de celui-ci ont le droit de la céder à un tiers, à titre onéreux ou autrement;

III) La femme peut, à la mort de son mari, être transmise par succession à une autre personne;

 d) Toute institution ou pratique en vertu de laquelle un enfant ou un adolescent de moins de dix-huit ans est remis, soit par ses parents ou par l’un d’eux, soit par son tuteur, à un tiers, contre paiement ou non, en vue de l’exploitation de la personne, ou du travail dudit enfant ou adolescent. »

La traite
La traite des esclaves est l’acte qui consiste à réduire des êtres humains en esclavage, à les vendre, à les transporter contre leur gré.

Selon la Convention de Genève du 25 septembre 1926, dans son article premier :

« La traite des esclaves comprend tout acte de capture, d’acquisition ou de cession d’un individu en vue de le réduire en esclavage; tout acte d’acquisition d’un esclave en vue de le vendre ou de l’échanger; tout acte de cession par vente ou échange d’un esclave acquis en vue d’être vendu ou échangé, ainsi que, en général, tout acte de commerce ou de transport d’esclaves. »