THE MEMORIAL
AN EXCEPTIONAL PROJECT
THE DESIGNERS

Wodiczko + Bonder

Wodiczko + Bonder is a Cambridge-based partnership that began in 2003.
Krzysztof Wodiczko is an artist and professor of Art, Design, and the Public Domain at Harvard University in Cambridge.
Julian Bonder is an architect and professor at Roger Williams University in Bristol, Rhode Island.

Wodiczko + Bonder focuses on art and design projects that engage public space and raise the issues of social memory, survival, and struggle and emancipation related to urban and domestic violence, war and post war trauma, immigration and global displacement, the Holocaust and genocides, the Desaparecidos (in Argentina), the Civil War, and historical and present day slavery.

Urban Public Space is among the most potent and durable stage and equipment for cultural communication and expression. Wodiczko + Bonder practice is based on their commitment to the advancement of democratic potential, vitality and usefulness  of such space through the creation of new transformative and communicative art and design.

The partnership’s experience ranges from temporary work such as design of participatory projections on monument and communicative urban equipment to design of residential, cultural and civic buildings, institutes, museums, memorials and commemorative public spaces. Partnership projects focus on design and implementation of instrumental and spatial conditions for inspiration development and dissemination of acts of memory and commemorative practices in Public Space.

Projects by Wodizcko + Bonder include:

Hoboken September 11 Memorial – Project among four finalist teams selected out of 100 submissions.

Flight 587 Memorial, Queens – Project among six teams finalists out of 68 applicants).

WTC Memorial Competition – Project proposed maintaining the excavated space, and elevating (uplifting) the “footprints” with programs such as archives and museum.

Memorial to the Abolition of Slavery. Project commissioned by the city of Nantes, France and its Mayor, Jean-Marc Ayrault, after winning an invited international competition. Situated across Jean Nouvel’s Palais De Justice, The project involves the transformation of 350 meters of the coast of the Loire River, in Downtown Nantes.

Babi Yar Memorial Park and Mizel Museum in Denver, CO, awarded winner of an International 3-round Competition, which included 116 entries. The project entails a transformation of Babi Yar Park, dedicated in 1982, and includes a museum, a center for conflict transformation, information areas and other programmatic elements.

9-11 Memory Place at Babi Yar Park, Denver, CO. This project will includes 15 pieces of steel from WTC. Our proposal includes a commemorative space and a “Memorial in Transit”.

Krzysztof Wodiczko

Krzysztof Wodiczko is an artist and teacher. He was born in Warsaw in 1943, and emigrated to Canada in 1977, and to the US in 1983 He lives and works in New York, Boston and Warsaw.

He is renowned for his large-scale slide and video projections on architectural facades and monuments. He has realized more than 80 such temporary projects in Australia, Austria, Canada, England, Germany, Holland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Poland, Spain, Switzerland, and the United States.

Since the late eighties, his public projections involve active participation of marginalized and estranged city residents. Simultaneously, he has been designing and implementing a series of nomadic instruments and vehicles with homeless, immigrant, and war veteran operators for their survival and communication.

Since 1985, he has held many major retrospectives at such institutions as the Walker Art Center, Minneapolis; Museum Sztuki, Lodz; Fundacio Tapies, Barcelona; Wadsworth Athenaeum, Hartford; La Jolla Museum of Contemporary Art, San Diego; Contemporary Art Center, Warsaw; and the Zacheta National Gallery of Art, Warsaw. In 1998, Wodiczko was awarded the Hiroshima Art Prize for his contribution as an artist to the world peace. He is recipient of Skowhegan Medal for Sculpture, the Georgy Kepes Award, the Katarzyna Kobro Prize, and « Gloria Artis » Golden Medal from Polish Ministry of Culture. In 2009 Krzysztof Wodiczko represented Poland in the Venice Biennale.

Mr. Wodiczko’s work has been exhibited in numerous international festival and exhibitions including: Paris Biennale (twice), Biennale of Sao Paulo (twice), The Sydney Biennale, Documenta, Germany (twice); The Kwang-ju Biennale, South Korea; The Venice Biennale (twice); The Biennale in Lyon, France, Helsinki Biennale, Whitney Museum of American Art Biennial, Kyoto Biennale, the Yokohama Triennale and the International Center for Photography Triennial in New York. He is currently developing new public art projects to be presented in 2012 in Germany, Belgium United States, Mexico and israel (Haifa Biennale).

Books on and by Krzysztof Wodiczko include:  Critical Vehicles: Writings, Projects, Interviews (1999), Krzysztof Wodiczko: Guests (2009), City of Refuge: A 9/11 Memorial (2010), a major monograph Krzysztof Wodiczko (2011), and Abolition of War (2012)

Krzysztof Wodiczko is a former director of the Center for Advanced Visual Studies at MIT, former professor at Ecole Nationale Superieure des Baux Arts in Paris. Since 2010 he directs the program of Art, Design, and the Public Domain at Graduate School of Design at Harvard University. He is also a senior lecturer in Warsaw School of Social Psychology.

Julian Bonder

Julian Bonder is an architect and teacher. He was born in New York in 1961 and raised in Buenos Aires, Argentina where he lived since 1962. In 1995, he moved to Cambridge, Massachusetts, where he currently lives and works.

In his design projects and writings Julian Bonder has concentrated on exploring the relationships between memory, trauma, architecture, and public space. His work in this field includes writings, teaching, projects and built work. HIs work encompasses projects dealing with the Civil War, the Desaparecidos, the Holocaust, Civil Rights and Slavery as well as September 11.

Projects by Julian Bonder:

The Center for Holocaust and Genocide Studies at Clark University, in Worcester (recipient of six national and international architecture awards); other projects include: Holocaust Museum, Buenos Aires; Memorial for AMIA/Association Mutual Israelita Argentina, blasted in a terrorist attack in 1994, Buenos Aires; Camp Meigs Civil War Memorial, Boston; Memorial for the Victims of State Violence in Buenos Aires (Desaparecidos); Museo de la Memoria, Escuela de Mecanica de la Armada (ESMA), Buenos Aires, among others. He is currently developing a series of projects for the Buenos Aires and its neighborhoods.

Mr. Bonder was recipient of a Silver Medal from the World Forum of Young Architects, the Boston Society of Architects BSA 2000 Young Architects Award, and the Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture ACSA Faculty Design Awards in 2001 & 2007. His work has participated of exhibitions such as: Biennial of Architecture in Buenos Aires, Trienale of Architecture in Milan, Museo de Arte Moderno in Buenos Aires, Boston Society of Architects Gallery, Museo de Arquitectura Buenos Aires, solo exhibition at University of Nebraska, in Lincoln. His works and writings have been published in Architecture Boston, Arquis, Places, Summa, Memoria, Clarin, Consejo Profesional de Arquitectura de Buenos Aires, Competitions, etc.

Mr. Bonder received the 2010 Boston Society of Architects BSA Housing Honor Award and the 2010 BSA Small Firm Awards for his design of two residences in Cambridge.

Mr. Bonder delivered the keynote address to Annual Human Rights conference in Lima, Perú, and plenary presentations at Memorial Democratic (Barcelona) and Slavery and the Universities conference at Emory University. He exhibited design work and lectured at the XIII Biennale of Architecture in Buenos Aires, in 2011.

He is Professor of Architecture, Roger Williams University, in Bristol, Rhode Island, former professor of Architecture at Universidad de Buenos Aires, Syracuse University and Hyde Chair of Excellence Professor of University of Nebraska. He is principal of Julian Bonder + Associates, Cambridge, Massachusetts.

le mémorial
Un projet d’exception
Les concepteurs

Krzysztof Wodiczko et Julian Bonder

Krzysztof Wodiczko et Julian Bonder

Wodiczko + Bonder

Wodiczko + Bonder est un partenariat né à Cambridge en 2003. Krzysztof Wodiczko est artiste et professeur d’art et de design dans l’espace public à l’Université Harvard, à Cambridge dans le Massachusetts. Julian Bonder est architecte et professeur à l’université Roger Williams à Bristol, Rhode Island.
Le partenariat Wodiczko + Bonder se focalise sur les projets d’art et de design qui concernent l’espace public et soulèvent des questions ayant trait à la mémoire sociale, à la survie, à la lutte et à l’émancipation dans le contexte de la violence urbaine et domestique, à la guerre et aux traumatismes d’après-guerre, à l’immigration et aux déplacements de population à l’échelle mondiale, à l’Holocauste et aux génocides, aux Desaparecidos (Argentine), à la guerre de sécession, et à l’esclavage historique et actuel.

L’espace public urbain constitue l’une des scènes les plus puissantes et les plus durables pour la communication et l’expression culturelle. La méthode de Wodiczko + Bonder s’appuie sur leur engagement en faveur de l’avancement du potentiel démocratique, de la vitalité et de l’utilité de cet espace à travers la création d’œuvres d’art et de design innovantes, transformatives et communicatives.

L’expérience de ce partenariat s’étend d’œuvres temporaires, comprenant le design de projections participatives sur des monuments et du mobilier urbain de communication, au design d’immeubles à destination résidentielle, culturelle et civique, d’instituts, de musées, de mémoriaux et d’espaces publics commémoratifs. Les projets du partenariat sont centrés sur le design et la mise en place de conditions instrumentales et spatiales favorables au développement de l’inspiration et à la diffusion d’actes de mémoire et de pratiques commémoratives dans les espaces publics.

Quelques projets de Wodizcko + Bonder :

Mémorial du 11 septembre à Hoboken  – projet faisant partie des quatre finalistes sélectionnés parmi 100 propositions.

Mémorial du vol 587, Queens (New-York) – projet faisant partie des six finalistes sur 68 équipes candidates.

Concours pour le mémorial du World Trade Center  – le projet proposé consistait à maintenir l’espace vide et à élever les « empreintes » ainsi qu’à établir des archives et un musée.

Mémorial de l’abolition de l’esclavage. Projet commandé par la ville de Nantes et son maire, M. Jean-Marc Ayrault, après avoir remporté un concours international. Situé en face du Palais De Justice Jean Nouvel, le projet consiste à transformer les 350 mètres de quai le long de laLoire, dans le centre-ville de Nantes.

Parc mémorial Babi Yar et musée Mizel à Denver, Colorado, vainqueur d’un concours international en 3 étapes, comprenant 116 équipes participantes. Le projet consiste à transformer le Parc Babi Yar, dédié en 1982, et inclut un musée, un centre pour la transformation de conflits, pour l’information et autres éléments de programmation.

9-11 Memory Place au Parc Babi Yar, à Denver. Ce projet inclura 15 pièces d’acier provenant du World Trade Center. Notre proposition inclut un espace commémoratif et un « mémorial en transit ».

Krzysztof Wodiczko


Krzysztof Wodiczko est artiste et professeur. Il est né à Varsovie en 1943, puis a émigré au Canada en 1977 et aux États-Unis en 1983. Il vit et travaille à New-York, Boston et Varsovie.

Il est célébré pour ses projections vidéo et de diaporamas à grande échelle sur des façades et monuments architecturaux. Il a réalisé plus de 80 projets temporaires de ce type en Australie, Autriche, Canada, Angleterre, Allemagne, Pays-Bas, Irlande, Israël, Italie, Japon, Mexique, Pologne, Espagne, Suisse, et aux États-Unis.

Depuis la fin des années 80, ses projections publiques demandent la participation active d’habitants marginalisés et isolés. En parallèle, il a conçu et mis en place une série d’instruments et de véhicules nomades auprès des sans-abri, des immigrants et des vétérans pour leur survie et leur communication.

Depuis 1985, il a fait l’objet de grandes rétrospectives dans des institutions telles que le Walker Art Center à Minneapolis, le musée Sztuki à Lodz, la Fundacio Tapies à Barcelone, le musée Wadsworth Athenaeum à Hartford, le musée d’art contemporain La Jolla à San Diego, ainsi que le Centre d’art contemporain et la Zacheta National Gallery of Art à Varsovie. En 1998, Wodiczko a reçu le Hiroshima Art Prize pour sa contribution en tant qu’artiste à la paix dans le monde. Il a également reçu la Skowhegan Medal for Sculpture, la récompense Georgy Kepes, le prix Katarzyna Kobro, et la médaille d’or « Gloria Artis » du ministère polonais de la culture. En 2009, Krzysztof Wodiczko a représenté la Pologne à la Biennale de Venise.

Son travail a été exposé lors de nombreux festivals et expositions internationaux, dont :  la Biennale de Paris (deux fois), la Biennale de Sao Paulo (deux fois), la Biennale de Sydney, la Documenta en Allemagne (deux fois), la Biennale de Kwang-ju en Corée du sud, la Biennale de Venise (deux fois), la Biennale de Lyon, la Biennale d’Helsinki, la Biennale du Whitney Museum of American Art, la Biennale de Kyoto, la Triennale de Yokohama et la Triennale du Centre international de la photographie à New-York. Il travaille actuellement au développement de nouveaux projets d’art public qu’il présentera en 2012 en Allemagne, en Belgique, aux États-Unis, au Mexique et en Israël (Biennale d’Haïfa).

Les ouvrages sur et par Krzysztof Wodiczko incluent :  Critical Vehicles: Writings, Projects, Interviews (1999), Krzysztof Wodiczko: Guests (2009), City of Refuge: A 9/11 Memorial (2010), une importante monographie Krzysztof Wodiczko (2011), et Abolition of War (2012).

Krzysztof Wodiczko a été directeur du Center for Advanced Visual Studies du MIT et professeur à l’Ecole Nationale Supérieure des Beaux-Arts de Paris. Depuis 2010, il dirige le programme d’art et de design dans l’espace public à la Graduate School of Design de l’Université Harvard. Il est également conférencier senior à l’école de psychologie sociale de Varsovie.

Julian Bonder

Julian Bonder est architecte et professeur. Il est né à New-York en 1961 et a grandi à Buenos Aires, en Argentine où il a vécu à partir de 1962. En 1995, il a déménagé à Cambridge, Massachusetts, où il vit et travaille actuellement.

Dans ses projets de design et ses écrits, Julian Bonder se concentre sur l’exploration du lien entre la mémoire, le traumatisme, l’architecture et l’espace public. Son travail dans ce domaine inclut des écrits, des conférences, des projets et des constructions. Ses œuvres englobent des projets traitant de la guerre de Sécession, des Desaparecidos, de l’Holocauste, des droits civiques et de l’esclavage ainsi que du 11 septembre.

Projets par Julian Bonder :

Le Centre de l’Holocauste et des études sur le génocide de l’Université de Clark, à Worcester (qui a reçu six récompenses d’architecture nationales et internationales) ; le musée de l’Holocauste, à Buenos Aires, le Mémorial de l’AMIA/Association Mutual Israelita Argentina, détruite par une attaque terroriste en 1994 à Buenos Aires, le mémorial de la guerre de Sécession Camp Meigs à Boston, le Mémorial des victimes de la violence d’État à Buenos Aires (Desaparecidos), le Museo de la Memoria, Escuela de Mecanica de la Armada (ESMA) à Buenos Aires, entre autres. Il travaille actuellement à une série de projets pour Buenos Aires et sa périphérie.

Julian Bonder a reçu une médaille d’argent du World Forum of Young Architects, la récompense de la Boston Society of Architects BSA 2000 Young Architects Award, et deux récompenses de l’Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture ACSA Faculty Design Awards en 2001 et 2007. Son travail a été inclus dans des expositions telles que : la Biennale d’architecture de Buenos Aires, la Triennale d’architecture de Milan, le Museo de Arte Moderno de Buenos Aires, la galerie de la Boston Society of Architects, le Museo de Arquitectura Buenos Aires, ainsi qu’une exposition personnelle à l’Université du Nebraska, à Lincoln. Ses œuvres et ses écrits ont été publiés dans Architecture Boston, Arquis, Places, Summa, Memoria, Clarin, Consejo Profesional de Arquitectura de Buenos Aires, Competitions, etc.

En 2010, Julian Bonder a reçu la Boston Society of Architects BSA Housing Honor Award ainsi que les BSA Small Firm Awards pour sa conception de deux résidences à Cambridge.

Il a prononcé le discours d’ouverture lors de la conférence annuelle sur les droits de l’Homme à Lima, au Pérou, ainsi que des présentations plénières au Memorial Democratic (Barcelone) et la conférence « Slavery and the Universities » à la Emory University. Il a exposé certains de ses designs et a donné des conférences à la XIIIe Biennale d’Architecture de Buenos Aires, en 2011.

Il est professeur d’architecture à la Roger Williams University de Bristol, Rhode Island, et a été professeur d’architecture à l’Universidad de Buenos Aires et à l’Université de Syracuse. Il est également titulaire du poste prestigieux de Hyde Chair of Excellence Professor de l’Université du Nebraska. Il est le principal partenaire de Julian Bonder + Associates, à Cambridge, Massachusetts.