THE MEMORIAL
AN EXCEPTIONAL PROJECT
AN ARTISTIC AND URBAN PROJECT

In artistic terms, Wodiczko and Bonder remind us, « the design of the Memorial originates from two fundamental actions, revelation and immersion, which together produce a deep experience with multiple strata, which will enable visitors to discover and interpret the diverse facets of a history which they believed to be familiar to them. » 

The Memorial is also a project to reclaim the banks of the Loire. By choosing a location in an area which had lost its function as the city’s port, and giving it an extremely symbolic purpose, the Memorial has created new traffic routes, placing memory at the heart of Nantes.

« This Memorial (…) has a dual perspective. On one side, it faces the city on the banks of the Loire estuary, a location which is marked, supported even, by colossal quays, interrupted at the points where the river has been filled. On the other side, it is linked to the sea, that vehicle of triangular trade (…) given that the main feature of Nantes’ geographical location is its inextricable link with the Loire, and the Atlantic beyond. The tides of the estuary lend an additional dynamic dimension to the design of the Memorial. »

Krzysztof Wodiczko and Julian Bonder

Le mémorial
Un projet d’exception
Un projet
artistique et urbain


En terme artistique, rappellent Wodiczko et Bonder, « la conception du Mémorial procède de deux gestes fondamentaux, dévoilement et immersion, qui ensemble serviront à créer une expérience à strates multiples, en profondeur, grâce à laquelle les visiteurs pourront découvrir et interpréter les diverses dimensions d’une histoire qu’ils croyaient déjà connaître. »

Le Mémorial est également un projet de reconquête des berges de la Loire. En s’implantant dans un espace qui avait perdu sa fonction portuaire dans la ville, en lui donnant un sens hautement symbolique, le Mémorial trace de nouveaux axes de circulation et place sa mémoire au cœur de Nantes.

« Ce Mémorial (…) s’inscrit dans une double perspective. D’un côté, il est tourné vers une ville située au bord de l’estuaire de la Loire, situation marquée, soutenue pour ainsi dire, par des quais massifs, lesquels sont interrompus aux endroits où le fleuve a été comblé. D’autre part, il est lié à la mer, véhicule du commerce triangulaire (…) Le trait majeur de la situation géographique de Nantes étant son contact intime avec la Loire, et par delà l’Atlantique. Les marées de l’estuaire apporteront un élément dynamique supplémentaire à la conception du Mémorial. »

Krzysztof Wodiczko et Julian Bonder