Le Voyage à Nantes
Nantes.Tourisme
Estuaire
Les Tables de Nantes
Les Machines de l’île
Château des ducs de Bretagne
Mémorial de l’abolition de l’esclavage
“A trade in men! Great God! Does nature not tremble? If they be animals, then are we not animals like them?”
Olympe de Gouges
Reflections on Negro Men, 1788. (France)
Septembre 2017
Heritage day 2017
Take advantage of the Heritage Day to come and (re)discover The Memorial to the Abolition of Slavery : You will be welcomed by a facilitator on Sunday, September 17 from 14:00-17:00.
Discover
the Memorial

A political project

This monument is one of the most important memorials in the world devoted to the slave trade and its abolition. It is a solemn reminder of Nantes’ history as the most active slave-trading port in 18th century France, paying tribute to those who struggled – and still struggle – against slavery in the world.

… and artistic

The artists behind the project – visual artist Krzysztof Wodiczko, and architect Julian Bonder –wanted, “a metaphorical and emotional reminder of the primarily historical, but also very current, struggle for the abolition of slavery.” The lights and reflections on the river, the chosen materials, the mix of stones from the old quay, wood, the unfinished concrete… this slow immersion beneath the quays bears a universal message of solidarity and fraternity for future generations, while affirming the value of human rights.

In the underground arm of the itinerary, a space is devoted to placing the transatlantic slave-trade in its context: historical and geographical information, statistics, maps, a timeline underlining historical facts, but also past and present struggles against servitude.

Slavery
today
Discover the documentary section
Share
Partagez sur Facebook Partagez sur Twitter
The Memorial in the City

Discover the members of the associative fabric of Nantes
You are a
professional
journalist
or teacher?

Discover specific resources available to you in the special section.
Practical Information

How to get there ? What are the opening hours ?

Le Voyage à Nantes
Nantes.Tourisme
Estuaire
Les Tables de Nantes
Les Machines de l’île
Château des ducs de Bretagne
Mémorial de l’abolition de l’esclavage
Fermeture exceptionnelle

En raison des mesures nationales et locales au vu de la situation liée au Covid-19, le Mémorial de l’abolition de l’esclavage est actuellement fermé au public.

10 mai 2019
Annulée - Rencontre publique avec Christiane Taubira
La rencontre avec Christiane Taubira est annulée   Christiane Taubira est connue  pour son rôle dans l’adoption de deux lois historiques pour la reconnaissance d’un crime contre l’humanité e (...)
Discover
the Memorial

Un projet politique…

Ce monument est l’un des plus importants au monde consacrés à la traite négrière, à l’esclavage et à son abolition. Il marque de manière solennelle le rapport de Nantes à son passé de premier port négrier de France au 18e siècle et rend hommage à ceux qui ont lutté et luttent encore contre l’esclavage dans le monde.

… et artistique

Les artistes concepteurs, le plasticien Krzysztof Wodiczko et l’architecte Julian Bonder, ont voulu « une évocation métaphorique et émotionnelle de la lutte, principalement historique mais toujours actuelle, pour l’abolition de l’esclavage ». Lumière et reflets du fleuve, choix des matériaux qui mêle pierres de l’ancien quai, bois, béton brut… cette lente immersion sous les quais porte un message universel de solidarité et de fraternité pour les générations futures en affirmant la valeur des droits de l’Homme.

Dans le prolongement du parcours souterrain un espace dédié replace la traite atlantique dans son contexte : clés historiques et géographiques, chiffres, carte, chronologie soulignent l’ampleur des faits historiques mais aussi la lutte contre l’asservissement hier et aujourd’hui.

Slavery
today
Discover the documentary section
Share
Partagez sur Facebook Partagez sur Twitter
The Memorial in the City

Discover the members of the associative fabric of Nantes
You are a
professional
journalist
or teacher?

Discover specific resources available to you in the special section.
Practical Information

How to get there ? What are the opening hours ?