SLAVERY AND THE FIGHT FOR FREEDOM
THE LONG FIGHT FOR ABOLITION

Les tables de honte, par Schneider et Langrand - Musée d'histoire de Nantes

Les tables de honte, par Schneider et Langrand - Musée d'histoire de Nantes

Slavery, which had been practised worldwide from very ancient times, was not criticised an offence against human beings until very late, and then only by a small minority.

At the time of the Atlantic slave trade, between the 16th and 19th centuries, the opinion that black slaves were « possessions », little different from beasts of burden was largely dominant, including in religious circles. Intellectuals – including Montesquieu himself – recognised that this trade was indispensable to the economy of the colonies.

However, some voices did speak up against the trading of human beings and proslavery ideology from the time that Atlantic slave trading began. Among the precursors we find religious figures who disagreed with the Church’s official position, French Enlightenment philosophers, British abolitionist leaders and even economists who considered slavery to be counter-productive.

It was not until the 18th century that a real abolitionist movement began to take shape in North America and then in Britain and France.

In parallel, for a long time slaves themselves were to be the most effective in the fight against slavery. Through passive resistance, which stretched as far as suicide and abortion, sabotage, revolts and escapes (maroonnage), they continually fought against a crushing system, to the point that it became fragile and eventually hardly viable.

In France, the Revolution and the West Indian slave revolts led to an initial abolition of slavery on 4 February 1794. Slavery was reinstated by Napoleon in 1802. Not until the time of Victor Schœœlcher and the Second Republic was slavery abolished definitively in France and its colonies, on 27 April 1848.

Nantes and the abolition of slavery

Nantes, a city heavily involved in slave trading and colonial commerce, was never at the forefront of the fight for abolition.

Despite the abolition of slavery by the British in 1807 and increasing pressure on the French government, Nantes continued to equip ships for the slave trade, including during the period when this was made illegal in the run-up to the definitive abolition of slavery in 1848.

See chronology of abolitions.

French National Assembly website :
http://www.assemblee-nationale.fr/histoire/esclavage

BBC website (United Kingdom) :
http://www.bbc.co.uk/abolition/

esclavage et lutte pour la liberté
Le long combat
des abolitions

Les tables de honte, par Schneider et Langrand - Musée d'histoire de Nantes

Les tables de honte, par Schneider et Langrand - Musée d'histoire de Nantes

Pratiqué depuis la plus haute Antiquité, partout à travers le monde, l’esclavage n’est critiqué que tardivement en tant qu’atteinte à l’être humain, et par une faible minorité .

A l’époque de la traite atlantique, entre le 16e et le 19e siècle, l’opinion largement dominante, y compris religieuse, est que les esclaves noirs sont des « biens meubles » guère différents de bêtes de somme. Des intellectuels – dont Montesquieu lui-même – reconnaissent que ce trafic est indispensable à l’économie des colonies.

Pourtant, dès les débuts de la traite atlantique, des voix, s’élèvent contre ce commerce d’êtres humains et contre l’esclavagisme. Parmi les précurseurs, se trouvent des religieux en rupture avec la position officielle de l’Eglise, des philosophes français des Lumières, des leaders abolitionnistes anglais et même des économistes jugeant l’esclavage contreproductif.

Il faut attendre la fin du 18e siècle, pour qu’un véritable mouvement abolitionniste se mette en marche en Amérique du Nord, puis en Angleterre et en France.

Parallèlement, les meilleurs combattants contre l’esclavage seront longtemps les esclaves eux-mêmes. Par leur résistance passive, allant jusqu’au suicide ou à l’avortement, par leurs sabotages, leurs révoltes et leur fuite (le marronnage), ils lutteront continuellement contre un système écrasant, jusqu’à le rendre fragile et finalement peu viable.

En France, la Révolution et les insurrections d’esclaves aux Antilles conduisent à une première abolition de l’esclavage le 4 février 1794. L’esclavage est rétabli par Napoléon en 1802. Il faut attendre Victor Schœlcher et la Seconde République pour que l’esclavage soit enfin définitivement aboli en France et dans ses colonies le 27 avril 1848.

Nantes et l’abolition de l’esclavage

Très engagée dans la traite négrière et dans le commerce colonial, Nantes à cette époque, ne sera jamais en pointe dans le combat abolitionniste.

Malgré l’abolition de la traite par les Anglais en 1807 et les pressions grandissantes du gouvernement français, les Nantais continuent d’armer au commerce négrier, y compris pendant l’époque où celui-ci est rendu illégal avant l’abolition définitive de l’esclavage en 1848.

Voir chronologie des abolitions.

Site de l’Assemblée nationale
http://www.assemblee-nationale.fr/histoire/esclavage

Site de la BBC (Royaume-Uni) :
http://www.bbc.co.uk/abolition/